Namibia beat Oman in Super Over

Namibia defeated Oman in Super Over to begin their campaign in the T20 World Cup on a winning note here on Monday.
T20 world cup 2024 - Namibia vs Oman
T20 world cup 2024 - Namibia vs Oman

Bridgetown (Barbados) | Namibia defeated Oman in Super Over to begin their campaign in the T20 World Cup on a winning note here on Monday.

Batting first, Oman were bowled out for 109 in 19.4 overs at the Kensington Oval. In reply, Namibia were also stopped at the same team score with Jan Frylinck making 45 in 48 balls and Mehran Khan taking 3/7 to take the game into the Super Over.

Namibia's Gerhard Erasmus and David Wiese smashed 21 runs in the one-over eliminator and Oman could manage only 10.

Earlier, Namibia's South Africa-born left-arm fast bowler Ruben Trumpelmann (4/21) created history as he became the first player in history of T20I cricket to take two wickets off the first two balls of a match.

The 26-year-old achieved the feat when he dismissed opener Kashyap Prajapati and Oman skipper Aqib Ilyas for golden ducks on the first two balls of the match after Namibia asked their opponents to bat first.

Khalid Kail top-scored for Oman with 34 in 39 balls. Brief scores: Oman: 109 all out in 19.4 overs (Khalid Kail 34; Ruben Trumpelmann 4/21, David Wiese 3/28). Namibia: 109/6 in 20 overs (Jan Frylinck 45; Mehran Khan 3/7).

Scoreboard of the World Cup match between Namibia and Oman here.


Kashyap Prajapati lbw b Trumpelmann 0

Naseem Khushi c Gerhard Erasmus b

Trumpelmann 6

Aqib Ilyas lbw b Trumpelmann 0

Zeeshan Maqsood lbw b Bernard Scholtz 22

Khalid Kailc and b Wiese 34

Ayaan Khanc Jan Frylinck b Gerhard Erasmus 15

Mohammad Nadeemlbw b Gerhard Erasmus 6

Mehran Khanlbw b Wiese 7

Shakeel Ahmed c Trumpelmann b Wiese 11

Kaleemullah lbw b Trumpelmann 2

Bilal Khan not out 1

Extras: (LB-2, W-2, NB-1) 5

Total: (All out in 19.4 Overs) 109

Bowling: Ruben Trumpelmann 4-0-21-4, David Wiese 3.4-0-28-3,Tangeni Lungameni 4-0-18-0, Bernard Scholtz 4-0-20-1, Gerhard Erasmus 4-0-20-2.

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-0, 3-10, 4-37, 5-68, 6-78, 7-95, 8-96, 9-99, 10-109.


Michael van Lingen b Bilal Khan 0

Nikolaas Davin c Mohammad Nadeem b Aqib Ilyas 24

Jan Frylinckb Mehran Khan45

Gerhard Erasmus c Zeeshan Maqsood b Ayaan Khan 13

JJ Smitc Ayaan Khan b Mehran Khan 8

David Wiesenot out9 Zane

Green lbw b Mehran Khan 0

Malan Krugernot out1 Extras: (B-6, W-3) 9

Total:(6 wickets in 20 Overs) 109

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-42, 3-73, 4-96, 5-105, 6-105. Bowling: Bilal Khan 4-0-25-1, Shakeel Ahmed 3-0-20-0, Kaleemullah 2-0-10-0, Aqib Ilyas 4-1-17-1, Mehran Khan 3-1-7-3, Zeeshan Maqsood 2-0-12-0, Ayaan Khan 2-0-12-1.

Latest News

No stories found.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Metrovaartha- En