ICC announces record prize purse of USD 11.25 million for T20 World Cup

ICC announces record prize purse of USD 11.25 million for T20 World Cup

New York | The International Cricket Council on Monday announced a record prize purse of USD 11.25 million for the 2024 T20 World Cup with the winners pocketing at least USD 2.45 million.

The runners-up will receive at least USD 1.28 million, while the losing semi-finalists walk away with USD 787,500 each.

The previous edition in 2022 had a total prize pool of USD 5.6 million with winners England receiving USD 1.6 million.

"The ninth edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will see the winners of the 20-team tournament earn at least $2.45 million, the highest prize money in the history of the tournament, along with the trophy that they will lift at Kensington Oval in Barbados on 29 June," said the ICC in a statement.

The four teams that fail to make it out of the Super 8s will earn USD 382,500 each, while the teams placed ninth, 10th, 11th and 12th receive USD 247,500 each. Participants who finish 13th to 20th place will return $225,000 each.

"And every team receives an additional $31,154 for each match they win barring the semi-finals and final," the sport's governing body added.

The 55-match event will be played over 28 days, across nine venues in the West Indies and USA, making it the biggest T20 World Cup ever. A record 20 teams are taking part in the competition including first timers USA, Canada and Uganda.

The format of this year’s tournament will see 40 first round matches played before the top eight progress to the Super 8s. Four teams will then qualify for the semi-finals, which will be staged in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana, ending with the final in Barbados.

“This event is historic in so many ways so it is fitting that the prize money for players reflects that. Hundreds of millions of fans around the world will be entertained by the players in what we’re hoping to be an Out of This World event," said ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice.

Doordarshan to telecast T20 World Cup

New Delhi | Prasar Bharati on Monday announced that it will telecast the ongoing T20 World Cup, the Paris Olympics and Wimbledon on its DD Sports channel.

The announcement was made by CEO Prasar Bharati, Gaurav Dwivedi, during an interaction with the media here on Monday.

Prasar Bharati also launched a special anthem 'Jazba' for the T20 World Cup.

Doordarshan also announced live, deferred live and highlights of the Paris Olympics from July 26 August 11 and Paris Paralympics (August 28-September 8).

It will also telecast India's tour of Zimbabwe from July 6-14 where they will play five T20Is after the T20 World Cup.

India's white-ball series in Sri Lanka from July 27-August 7 will also be telecast by DD Sports, the release stated.

The finals of the French Open and Wimbledon will be also be telecast by Doordarshan.

"Prasar Bharati is in advanced stages of negotiations with different sports bodies and agencies to showcase different sports leagues and properties on its sports channel," it added.

The T20 World Cup consisting of 55 matches began on June 2 and will be played over 28 days, across nine venues in the West Indies and USA.

A record 20 teams are divided into four groups and the format will see see 40 first-round matches before the Super Eight stage to identify the four semifinalists.

The semi-finals will be staged in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana, with the summit clash in Barbados on June 29.

Latest News

No stories found.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Metrovaartha- En