Glenn Maxwell smashes fastest century in Cricket World Cup history

Aussie all-rounder Glenn Maxwell smashes fastest century in Cricket World Cup history, breaking previous record held by South African batter Aiden Markram.
Glenn Maxwell smashes fastest century in Cricket World Cup history

New Delhi | Australian all-rounder Glenn Maxwell made history on Wednesday, smashing the fastest century in history of ICC Cricket World Cup.

Maxwell registered this record to his name during the World Cup match against Netherlands at Delhi's Arun Jaitley Stadium.

In the match, Maxwell came to bat in the 40th over. With just 10 overs in hand, Maxwell went found gaps at will and went on a six-hitting spree towards the end to register the fastest WC century ever in just 40 balls. His knock ended at 106 in 44 balls, with nine fours and eight sixes.

This broke the record of South African batter Aiden Markram, who had smashed a 49-ball hundred against Sri Lanka at the same venue to outdo Ireland's Kevin O'Brian's 50-ball century against England in 2011.

This is also the fourth-fastest century in ODI format, with the fastest being by AB de Villiers of South Africa in just 31 balls against West Indies in 2015. Maxwell's effort is also the fastest century in ODIs by an Australian.

Coming to the match, Australia opted to bat first and scored 399/8 in just 50 overs. Maxwell (106) and David Warner (104 in 93 balls with 11 fours and three sixes) led the onslaught with their centuries. Steve Smith (71 in 68 balls, with nine fours and six) and Marnus Labuschagne (62 in 47 balls with seven fours and two sixes), who smashed halfcenturies.

Logan van Beek (4/74) and Bas de Leede (2/115) were among the pick of the bowlers for Netherlands.

Australia (Playing XI): David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Josh Inglis(w), Glenn Maxwell, Cameron Green, Pat Cummins(c), Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, Adam Zampa

Netherlands (Playing XI): Vikramjit Singh, Max ODowd, Colin Ackermann, Bas de Leede, Teja Nidamanuru, Scott Edwards(w/c), Sybrand Engelbrecht, Logan van Beek, Roelof van der Merwe, Aryan Dutt, Paul van Meekeren.

Latest News

No stories found.

Related Stories

No stories found.
Metrovaartha- En