Congress issues whip, asks MPs to be present in LS during Speaker's election

Congress issues whip, asks MPs to be present in LS during Speaker's election

New Delhi | The Congress on Tuesday issued a three-line whip to its MPs asking them to be present in Lok Sabha at 11 AM on Wednesday during the election for the Speaker's post.

"Very important issue will be taken up in the Lok Sabha tomorrow i.e. Wednesday, June 26, 2024.

"All Members of Congress Party in the Lok Sabha are requested to kindly remain present in the House from 11:00 A.M. onwards till the adjournment of the House on June 26, 2024 without fail and support the Party stand," the whip issued by Congress chief whip K Suresh said.

Suresh is also the joint candidate of the opposition INDIA bloc for Speaker's post. He takes on NDA's Om Birla.

TDP issues whip to party's 16 Lok Sabha MPs to vote for Om Birla in Speaker election

Amaravati/New Delhi | The Telugu Desam Party on Tuesday issued a whip to its 16 Lok Sabha members to vote for NDA's Om Birla in Wednesday's Speaker election.

In a three-line whip, TDP's Amalapuram MP Harish Balayogi directed all the MPs to assemble at room number 111–B by 10:30 am on Wednesday.

"Harish Balayogi, whip of the Telugu Desam Party has issued a three-line whip to all TDP Members of Parliament, mandating their presence and vote for the NDA candidate, Om Birla, in the upcoming Speaker election scheduled for June 26, 2024," said a TDP press note on Tuesday.

TDP is part of the NDA in Andhra Pradesh, along with BJP and Janasena.

The alliance won 21 Lok Sabha seats, which include 16 by TDP, two by Janasena and three by BJP and also swept the Assembly elections with a landslide victory.

Latest News

No stories found.

Related Stories

No stories found.